Mary held all these things in the quietness of her heart.

The shepherds went back to their fields, their hearts glowing with faith and hope.

What do I hold “in the quietness of my heart”?

What are the memories and values I hold close are that shape my life?

Mary held in her heart the beauty, love, truth, grace, mercy, and wonder that were embodied in her son Jesus.

I too have the capacity to hold in my heart those things that bring life. As Paul counselled the Philippians,

whatever is true, whatever is honourable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is pleasing, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence and if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.
(Philippians 4:8)

Jesus is all that “is true…honourable… just… pure… pleasing… commendable…. excellent…. and worthy of praise.”

To think on these things is to hold these qualities close, pondering their place in my life, and allowing God’s Spirit to guide me into the fullness of life that manifests in these gifts.

Christmas is a time for gift giving and receiving. But the greatest gift is the presence in our lives of the One who is true, honourable, just, pure, pleasing, commendable, excellent, and praise worthy.

As my heart opens to the gift of Jesus, I find my life conforming more fully to the love and beauty that were fully embodied in the infant born in Bethlehem. Jesus carries me into that stream of love that is the power that generates and sustains all life. By opening my heart to Jesus, I open to the flow of goodness beauty and truth that is my true nature.

As the celebration of the Nativity of Jesus dawns upon us, may our hearts open to the fullness of life for which we were created. May we find our true destiny and life in the presence of the Christ child who dwells within us and guides us into fullness of life.

Thank you for joining me on this journey through Advent. I am touched by your presence and deeply encouraged by your desire to grow in your awareness of God’s work in your life.

May the mystery and wonder of Jesus’ birth touch you in these holy hours. God bless you all.

