We cannot see things in perspective until we cease to hug them to our own bosom. When we let go of them we begin to appreciate them as they really are. Only then can we begin to see God in them. 4

On my journey through Lent, I desire to see things more clearly.

Paul says my problem is that I am often blind to the realities of life.

And even if our gospel is veiled, it is veiled to those who are perishing. In their case the god of this world has blinded the minds of the unbelievers, to keep them from seeing the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God. (2 Corinthians 4:3,4)

“The god of this world” is the power that is determined “to hug things to my own bosom.”

When I am under the influence of “The god of this world” I struggle to control every aspect of my life and the world in which I live. I grasp and clutch. Everything is a competition. I want things the way I want them and am determined to do what it takes to make life conform to my will.

This demanding approach to life makes it impossible to see clearly. It keeps me trapped in form, obsessed with externals. When I am fixated on the way things appear and the way I am functioning on the material horizontal plane, I am unable to see the true nature of life which Paul described when he asserted that,

we have this treasure in clay jars, so that it may be made clear that this extraordinary power belongs to God and does not come from us. (2 Corinthians 4:7)

When I focus on the “clay jar” I lose sight of the “treasure” the jar was designed to carry.

Lent offers me the opportunity to see more clearly. On this journey through Lent, I have a chance to see those things that cause me to become clay-jar-fixated and put them aside in order to see more clearly the treasure that is my true nature.

To what am I clinging that inhibits my ability to see clearly?

How does my attitude to life shift when I begin to see things “as they really are” and discern God’s presence “in them”?

