My hope is in what the eye has never seen. Therefore, let me not trust in visible rewards. My hope is in what the heart of man cannot feel. Therefore let me now trust in the feelings of my heart. My hope is in what the hand of man has never touched. Do not let me trust what I can grasp between my fingers. Death will loosen my grasp and my vain hope will be gone.

Let my trust be in Your mercy, not in myself. Let my hope be in Your love, not in health, or strength, or ability or human resources. 33

It has always been clear to me that everything visible, all things tangible, health, strength, even the ability of my human resources would all one day let me down. There is no ultimate hope in anything in this material world. My thoughts and even my feelings are all to some degree unreliable.

I know that one day, the approach of death will “loosen my grip” on anything to which I cling and I will stand at the edge of my human capacity and the clarity of all that I cannot trust will close in upon me.

What then?

At the final moment of my physical existence will I find myself equally clear that I have a hope that extends beyond the physical material realm? As I face the final blank wall of death, will I find rising up within my heart an abiding confidence in a “mercy” and a “love” that exist in a realm deeper than anything I can perceive with my usual faculties?

What does it mean for me to hope in a mercy and love that will be there when death finally forces my fingers to loose their fevered grip on all that I have grasped?

At the very least it means that my physical existence is not the ultimate terminus of my being. After my death I will continue to be in a relationship of grace with ultimate reality. I will continue to receive the gifts of life from the Source of all Creation.

To what am I clinging that might hinder me from knowing the deeper reality of a “mercy” and “love” that transcend death?

What does it mean for me to hope in God’s mercy and love?

