There is a force of life, we call Jesus or Christ that cannot be destroyed. The power that was embodied in Jesus triumphed over physical death and lives in that dimension of being we call “eternity.”

This power of Christ that transcends death dwells in our “inner nature”/”heart”.

I pray that, according to the riches of his glory, he may grant that you may be strengthened in your inner being with power through his Spirit, and that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith, as you are being rooted and grounded in love. (Ephesians 3:16, 17)

The glory that you have given me I have given them, so that they may be one, as we are one, I in them and you in me. (John 17:22,23)

Christ is all and in all. (Colossians 3:11)

it is no longer I who live, but it is Christ who lives in me. (Galatians 2:20)

you are in the Spirit, since the Spirit of God dwells in you. (Romans 8:9)

The Spirit of God cannot be destroyed. There is an inner spiritual force at the heart of our being that cannot die.

those who drink of the water that I will give them will never be thirsty. The water that I will give will become in them a spring of water gushing up to eternal life. (John 4:14)

For Paul, in I Corinthians, this hidden spiritual dimension is so real that he suggests it has its own body as real as our physical bodies:

If there is a physical body, there is also a spiritual (pneumatikos) body. (I Corinthians 15:44b)

Jesus seems to have pointed directly to the living reality of the divine within in a conversation with the Pharisees:

20 Once Jesus was asked by the Pharisees when the kingdom of God was coming, and he answered, ‘The kingdom of God is not coming with things that can be observed; 21nor will they say, “Look, here it is!” or “There it is!” For, in fact, the kingdom of God is within (entos – “within”, “inside”) you.’ (Luke 17:20,21)

It is startling to observe that this statement was made to Pharisees who were notoriously opposed to Jesus’ ministry and, for the most part, resisted the truth of his teaching. If the “kingdom of God” is “within” the enemies of Jesus, it is certainly within every human being, even if unrecognized.

None of these texts definitively proves anything. In the end, the question of the existence of an immortal soul is a matter of faith and experience. And our genuine experience of life is not something to be ignored in determining our beliefs about the deepest questions of faith and life.

What does my experience tell me about the nature of life and what it means to be human?

In my deepest experience of my self as a human being do I sense myself as merely a material physical biological entity?

Are there invisible forces I experience in this life that cannot be entirely explained or grasped by mental processes?

Do I experience within myself a dimension that seems to transcend death?

When I have confronted death, does it seem to me that the life of the deceased has simply ceased to exist?

The goal of human life is to to open to an awareness in this life of this force that does not die. The longing of our hearts is to live in that strength that dwells at the centre of our beings that is stronger and more real than all the struggles and difficulties that might ever befall us in this life. There is no way to live the Christian life without an awareness of this force that is greater than all the hurt or struggle I might ever face.

Only the immortal soul that is my true and deepest nature makes it possible for me to live in the triumph of life over death and rest in the peace of Christ’s truth and wisdom.

