As soon as a man is fully disposed to be alone with God, he is alone with God no matter where he may be – in the country, the monastery, the woods or the city.

The lightning flashes from east to west, illuminating the whole horizon and striking where it pleases and at the same instant the infinite liberty of God flashes in the depths of that man’s soul, and he is illumined. At that moment he sees that though he seems to be in the middle of his journey, he has already arrived at the end. 108

The only thing over which I have any control is my disposition. How am I “disposed”? What is my intention? What is the aim of my life?

If my aim is to open and live responsively in tune with the Divine, then my journey has no beginning, middle, or end. Wherever I am, I am already where I want to be. There are no longer any goals to achieve, any mountains to climb, any kingdoms to conquer.

If I long to open to the presence of love, beauty and truth, then I have accomplished in this moment everything for which I was created. There is nowhere and no time in which love, beauty and truth are absent.

Through the prophet Jeremiah, God challenged the people posing two rhetorical questions:

Who can hide in secret places so that I cannot see them? says the Lord. Do I not fill heaven and earth? says the Lord. (Jeremiah 23:24)

Clearly the answer to the first question is “No one.” The answer to the second question is “Yes.” There is no place where I can hide from God because indeed God fills “heaven and earth.”

As the Psalmist affirms through a series of questions, God’s presence permeates all existence.

7 Where can I go from your spirit?
Or where can I flee from your presence?
8 If I ascend to heaven, you are there;
if I make my bed in Sheol, you are there.
9 If I take the wings of the morning
and settle at the farthest limits of the sea,

10 even there your hand shall lead me. (Psalm 139:7-10)

The only question is the question of my intention.

Do I intend to open to the presence of God in all of life?

What helps me open to an awareness of Divine Presence?

