Peace depends upon where I locate my sense of “I”.

If my sense of who I am depends upon how you treat me, I will have no peace. If I give away my identity to what I accomplish, what I possess, how much power I have, or how safe and secure I am able to feel in my external circumstances, there will never be peace in my life.

Peace comes only when I locate my identity in a reality that transcends the frail time-bound tangible realm of circumstance. I will have peace to the extent that I intuit within myself a depth and a truth that can never be destroyed.

In his great hymn to love in I Corinthians 13, Paul spoke of a love that “never ends” (I Corinthians 13:8). Peace will follow when I find security in the confidence that there is within me an eternal undying reality called “love”.

When I trust in the power of love as the source of my being and meaning of my life, I discover there is nothing you can take from me, that I cannot willingly surrender. My identity is not grounded in anything changeable, tangible, or ephemeral.

Peace comes from the deep knowing that, as Paul says in Romans, there is nothing that can “separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord” (Romans 8:39). There is an eternal reality in which my true identity resides. Nothing can undo or destroy this strong solid reality. The more I experience this eternal dimension of my being, the greater peace I possess.

What helps me stay open to an awareness of the eternal dimension of my being?

