Love is not a goal to attain.

Love is the power that attains the goal. Love is the means by which I become more fully the person I was created to be.

I do not contain within myself the capacity to become more joyful, peaceful, patient, kind, generous, faithful, gentle, and strong in my inner being (Galatians 3:22,23). There is no self-help course, no do-it-yourself program, by which I can become more compassionate, gracious, self-less, and wise. These are not qualities I have the capacity to manufacture. They are all gifts, gifts of the Spirit. The Spirit is the Spirit of love.

Love is the energy that fuels the sun, makes the wind blow and the seasons turn from year to year. Whether or not we acknowledge it, we live our entire lives, immersed in a sea of love. Love is the source of every child born and the power manifest in the infant whose memory we honour at Christmas.

We do not need to search for love, or even create the circumstances by which love becomes available to us.

There is nothing any human being can do to increase the force of love at work in the world. Love is a constant steady energy-force that pulsates through all of the creation that Love brought into existence and which Love sustains.

Love finds expression through human beings, but is not confined to human beings or to any one expression. Love is manifest in the world in a myriad of forms and manifest in unimaginable profusion through all creation.

How do I become more deeply conscious of the presence of love at work in all of life?

