Love is not something I do to you.

Love is the power of life that resides in me and happens through me when I remove the obstacles that inhibit the natural flow of this life-force.

Love generates life. Love creates, serves, and reaches out with compassion to the whole of creation. My job is not to generate love as if I had the ability to create such a force. My job is only to be open to the working of love in my life.

Christmas is our destiny.

As Chrstina Rosetti wrote,

Love was born at Christmas,
Star and angels gave the sign.

Human beings exist to embody the power of love; that is our true identity.

As William Blake wrote in “Songs of Innocence,”

And we are put on earth a little space
That we may learn to bear the beams of love.

There is no task greater than this. No meaning to life other than love.

The external circumstances within which we fulfill our calling to be instruments of love are much less significant than the love we transmit. It does not matter if we manifest in the external realm as a butcher, a baker, or a candle-stick maker. What matters is that we live as a loving butcher, baker, or candle-stick maker.

The holiness of this season is the invitation to enter fully and deeply into the mystery and wonder of our true nature as beings created in the image of love.

What helps remove the obstacles in my life that hinder me from being more fully an embodiment of that love that is my true nature?

 

