Krystyna Wituska was born May 12, 1920 in Jeżew, Poland.

At the age of 24 she was executed in the Buchenwald sub-camp Halle-Saale Prison in Germany after having been arrested for her work in the Polish resistance. She left behind a remarkable collection of letters published in English in 2006.

Krystyna’s letters bear testimony to the indomitable nature of the human spirit and the lasting power of love.

I would think it presumptuous to ask God to save my life, which after all is of no great importance in the universal scheme of things. Why should I have a greater right to life than those millions who have already perished in this terrible war? What will come next, I can’t and don’t try to imagine. I do believe, though, that the best and the most noble that is in us will not perish, that through this we will unite with something greater than ourselves, that we will approach perfection. It is nice to think that I will meet, in another world, all those I have loved – after all, is it possible that such a powerful feeling as love could just cease to be? 65

June 26, 1944 – Beloved parents, How hard it is to write this last letter. But you must believe me – I am not afraid of death, I do not regret my life. I only think how much sorrow I give you, how you will grieve during the last hours of my life…. I am completely at peace, believe me, and I will remain serene to the end. My last obligation to Poland and to you is to die bravely. 121

Wituska, Krystyna. Inside a Gestapo Prison: The Letters of Krystyna Wituska 1942-1944.
ed. & trans. Irene Tomaszweski. Detroit, Michigan: Wayne State University Press, 2006.

In I Corinthians 13:8 Paul made the simple bold statement that,

Love never ends.

There is an intangible dimension of life that transcends physical death. Christian tradition names that invisible realm “love”.

When we open our hearts to the presence of love “we unite with something greater than ourselves” and it becomes possible, even in the face of great horror, to “remain serene to the end.” 

