It is not possible to read the Bible closely without being struck by the importance of love. Love permeates every part of the sacred Scriptures upon which Christian faith is founded. If our thoughts, ideas, words, and attitudes, do not emanate from love and lead to love, they are not the Spirit who gave us the Bible.

this is the message you have heard from the beginning, that we should love one another. (I John 3:11)

We know that we have passed from death to life because we love one another. Whoever does not love abides in death. (I John 3:14)

Little children, let us love, not in word or speech, but in truth and action. (I John 3:18)

Beloved, let us love one another, because love is from God; everyone who loves is born of God and knows God. Whoever does not love does not know God, for God is love. (I John 4:7, 8)

Beloved, since God loved us so much, we also ought to love one another…. if we love one another, God lives in us, and his love is perfected in us. (I John 4:11, 12)

God is love, and those who abide in love abide in God, and God abides in them. (I John 4:16)

There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear; for fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not reached perfection in love. (I John 4:18)

We love because he first loved us. (I John 4:19)

those who love God must love their brothers and sisters also. (I John 4:21)

keep yourselves in the love of God (Jude 1:21)

