3. Feelings of being closely connected with others and nature.

All good spirituality causes boundaries and barriers to dissolve. Paul affirmed that “There is no longer Jew or Greek, there is no longer slave or free, there is no longer male and female; for all of you are one in Christ Jesus.” (Galatians 3:28) Despite all appearances to the contrary, religion is not in the business of building walls or creating division. Religion is in the heart-opening business.

As my heart opens to the depth dimension of life, I discover that beneath the surface we are all one. All human beings are connected by virtue of our common origin. We are all children of God. There is no “other.” We are not separate. The dividing line  has been abolished. We are unavoidably and profoundly connected.

The connection we share as one human family, points to a “Symptom of Spiritual Awakening” that will come up under symptom #’s 10 and 11, but bears mention here:

a reduction in my tendency to be judgemental.

Judgement depends on separation.

Jesus said, “‘Do not judge, so that you may not be judged.” (Matthew 7:1)

As I recognize the oneness of all humanity, there is less and less room for me to sit in judgement on anyone. All judgement is based on the illusion that I am separate from that which I judge. Judgement assumes that I see the world from a position of superiority.

But, the human community is not divided into good, better, best. All our measures of judgement are flawed. The differences to which we point in our judgements are subjective and inaccurate. We do not see objectively. Our judgements are always coloured by our subjectivity. We always see from a point of view. A “point of view” is a view from a point. Human beings are not separate points. We are part of a shared continuum of humanity, connected along the spectrum of our shared humanness.

We differ only by small degrees. No matter how different we may appear to be on the surface, we share a great deal more than actually divides us.

On the surface of life I see separation and division. As the eyes of my heart become more accustomed to the deeper mystery, I begin to see that there is one great unending stream of life that pours through all the disparate forms in which life is manifest. Human beings and all life forms share this one common gift of life.

This deepening awareness of my connection to all forms of life leads naturally to a desire to serve and support the well-being of all people and the prospering of all creation.

The connection between all lifeforms, points to a missing quality form this list of “”12 Symptoms Of Spiritual Awakening”:

an increase of compassion towards all life.

A growing awareness of my connection with all life, inevitably leads to the flow of compassionate action. When I know that I am not “other” than my brother and the created world, I will always be moved to live in deep harmony with all that is. My life will become a support to the well-being of life in all its forms.

A heart that is growing will have more room to embrace and value all forms of life and to support the flourishing of life in all its manifestations. As Jesus is reported to have said in John’s Gospel, “I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly.” (John 10:10) Where there is spiritual awakening, there will be a deep awareness of the abundant life in which we see our connections to all forms of life and in which all life has room to prosper.

****************

nb: since I started posting these “12 Symptoms of Spiritual Awakening” I have been directed to their original source – please see: http://www.symptomsofinnerpeace.net/Home.html

 

