I do not know enough about US politics to understand the source of the powerful Hillary hatred which appears to be the only thing holding Donald Trump in the race for president:

The adviser said Trump had easily bounced back from other controversies, but this latest round borders on a point of no return. “It feels like we’re close to it.” The only silver-lining? “Republicans’ intense hatred for Clinton. You remind yourself who the opposition is.”

Apparently it is only the Horror of Hillary that offers the best chance of electing the Terror that is Trump:

Clinton is so widely despised that a majority of Americans will leap at the chance to support Trump if he merely acts like a minimally acceptable alternative.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/plum-line/wp/2016/08/03/republicans-nominate-dangerously-insane-person-to-lead-america-then-panic-when-he-proves-hes-dangerously-insane/

Hillary Clinton and BabyWhat is it about Hillary that causes such antipathy? Why is she so “widely despised”? I truly do not know the answer to this question and would like someone with a better knowledge of US politics to enlighten me.

One argument, apparently the one put forward by Dr. James Dobson’s, appears to be that Trump represents Christian values while Hillary is the candidate of godless heathenism.

So, is Hillary lying when she declares,

I am a person of faith. I am a Christian.

http://www.nytimes.com/politics/first-draft/2016/01/25/hillary-clinton-gets-personal-on-christ-and-her-faith/

Evidence on Factcheck.org seems to support her claims to Christian faith:

According to the Religious News Service, “As a girl, she was part of the guild that cleaned the altar at First United Methodist Church in Park Ridge, Ill. As a teen, she visited inner-city Chicago churches with the youth pastor, Don Jones, her spiritual mentor until his death in 2009.”

A Time magazine profile, which ran under the headline “Hillary Clinton: Anchored by Faith,” had this to say about Clinton’s early religious training:

Time, June 27, 2014: Clinton grew up attending First United Methodist Church of Park Ridge in Chicago, where she was confirmed in sixth grade. Her mother taught Sunday school, and Clinton was active in youth group, Bible studies and altar guild. On Saturdays during Illinois’s harvest season, she and others from her youth group would babysit children of nearby migrant workers.

The article notes that in college at Wellesley, “Clinton regularly read the Methodist Church’s Motive magazine,” that she and Bill Clinton were married by a Methodist minister, and that in 1993, she joined a women’s prayer group.

http://www.factcheck.org/2016/06/we-know-plenty-about-clintons-religion/

According to their website, during her time living in Washington, “President William Clinton and his family attended regularly” at the Foundry United Methodist Church in Washington https://www.foundryumc.org/who-we-are/our-history.

Speaking of her faith, in a CNN Forum on Faith on 4 June 2007, Clinton said,

I take my faith very seriously and very personally. And I come from a tradition that is perhaps a little too suspicious of people who wear their faith on their sleeves…… a lot of the talk about and advertising about faith doesn’t come naturally to me….But I think your — your faith guides you every day. Certainly, mine does. But, at those moments in time when you’re tested, it — it is absolutely essential that you be grounded in your faith.

For some people, being tested leads them to faith. For some people, being tested in cruel and tragic ways leads them away from faith. For me, because I have been tested in ways that are both publicly known and those that are not so well known or not known at all, my faith and the support of my extended faith family, people whom I knew who were literally praying for me in prayer chains, who were prayer warriors for me, and people whom I didn’t know, who I would meet or get a letter from, sustained me through a very difficult time.

But I — I am very grateful that I had a grounding in faith that gave me the courage and the strength to do what I thought was right, regardless of what the world thought.

I was raised to pray, you know, as a little girl, you know, saying my prayers at night, saying grace at meals, praying in, you know, church. I see my old friend, my youth minister praying in MYF, our Methodist Youth Fellowship.

http://transcripts.cnn.com/TRANSCRIPTS/0706/04/sitroom.03.html

There may be political positions Hillary that people find disagreeable. But it is difficult to see just what it is about her as a person that is so objectionable.

Someone please tell me, what has Hillary done that makes Donald Trump the lesser of two evils?

 

