Beginning this morning IASP will be taking a break from normal content and concentrating on reading slowly through Luke 1:1-2:52.

luke

1Since many have undertaken to set down an orderly account of the events that have been fulfilled among us, 2just as they were handed on to us by those who from the beginning were eyewitnesses and servants of the word, 3I too decided, after investigating everything carefully from the very first, to write an orderly account for you, most excellent Theophilus, 4so that you may know the truth concerning the things about which you have been instructed.

You have to admire Luke’s temerity. He proposes “to set down an orderly account of the events” surrounding the birth, life, death, and resurrection of Jesus.

I like orderly accounts. Order appeals to me. I wish that, like Luke I could investigate “everything carefully from the very first,” and find myself able “to write an orderly account.”

But, Advent is not the season of “orderly accounts”.

Advent is the season of mystery. It is a season of uncertainty, fear, perhaps even confusion. The story upon which we are about to embark is not a story that fits tidily into most of the “orderly accounts” with which we are familiar.

We are going to be stretched by this story to enter dimensions of life we may never before have encountered. The story Luke is preparing to tell is not an easy story. It will traverse the terrain of pain, difficulty, injustice, and terror. It is the journey of life.

To make this journey with Luke, I must be willing, for a time, to put aside my accustomed tools for navigating the journey of life.

I will not find my way on this journey primarily using the instruments of reason and intellect. Beauty and mystery call me to deeper ways of knowing. I need to open to the heart-perception Jesus demonstrated that is the only true guide to real wisdom.

Am I willing to take this journey beyond predictability, comfort and rationality into mystery?

Can I for a moment suspend my critical, analytical capabilities, and trust the journey into depth?

