38Then Mary said, ‘Here am I, the servant of the Lord; let it be with me according to your word.’ Then the angel departed from her.

Mary does not need an angel any more. The angel’s work is done.

Mary has struggled to understand the incomprehensible mystery of the news she received. She has passed through the place of questioning and perplexity. She has moved beyond fear.

mary-let-it-beMary has arrived at her journey’s destination – “Here am I…”

Mary is willing to show up for whatever lies ahead. She is not going to run in the opposite direction. She is not going to hide, or try to control the outcome. She is not going to whine, complain, or bargain. She is simply here, present in the moment open and available, willing to serve the call of love.

Mary would have certainly understood that the fulfillment of the angel’s promise was not likely to create for her a life of ease and comfort. The path upon which her feet were being placed was going to include a litany of pain and heartache.

Mary chose to walk this path conscious of the dark terrain it would traverse.

To show up is to be willing for life to be as it is. Mary says, “let it be with me according to your word.” This is the goal of all spiritual practice. This is the destination, the map, and the means of transportation.

To follow Mary is to let go of my determination that life should be different than it is. To declare “let it be…” is not resignation but an expression of willingness to give up my resistance to reality.

To be with Mary is to be in that place within myself where I surrender any idea of “fairness” in life. I understand that the gifts and rewards of life are unevenly distributed. I do not expect it to be different.

What aspects of life do I resist?

What helps me let go of my resistance and walk in the freedom of “let it be”?

