39In those days Mary set out and went with haste to a Judean town in the hill country, 40where she entered the house of Zechariah and greeted Elizabeth.

mary-and-elizabeth41When Elizabeth heard Mary’s greeting, the child leapt in her womb. And Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit 42and exclaimed with a loud cry, ‘Blessed are you among women, and blessed is the fruit of your womb. 43And why has this happened to me, that the mother of my Lord comes to me? 44For as soon as I heard the sound of your greeting, the child in my womb leapt for joy. 45And blessed is she who believed that there would be a fulfilment of what was spoken to her by the Lord.’

How often do I notice what leaps inside me?

There are so many subtle movements in my inner being that I often miss, so many stirrings I tend to ignore.

I am distracted, preoccupied, trapped on the surface of life. My attention is captured by the flotsam and jetsam that clutter my days. I am taken by my schemes, my needs, wants, and desires.

I seldom take the time to really hear the divine voice who spoke to Elizabeth in Mary’s greeting. And, failing to listen, I fail to hear the deep that calls to deep in the realm of mystery.

How did Elizabeth know? What was it that caused her to perceive “that the mother of my Lord comes to me”?

It could not have been the chance occurrence of one lucky day. It must have been the culmination of weeks, months, years, perhaps a whole lifetime of opening to that deeper perceptivity that can behold the inner moving of the Spirit. Elizabeth had developed those subtle senses that have the capacity to penetrate beneath the surface. She was able to stop, to still the outward clamour of circumstance and sink down into depths where true knowing resides. She had avoided letting her life be taken by the constant preoccupations and distractions that clutter life on the horizontal plane and so she was open to the vertical dimension.

What are the distractions that prevent me from perceiving the deep mystery and beauty of life?

What changes might I need to make in order for me to more consistently create space for the deep heart-opening that connects me to the true wisdom of Christ leaping in my heart?

***********

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 710 other followers

Donate

This blog is supported by St. Philip Church. To support our ministry, please click here .

Recent Posts

Archives

You have set my feet in a spacious place ~ Psalm 31:8

Pre-April 2010 posts: http://inaspaciousplace.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

