46 And Mary said,

‘My soul magnifies the Lord,

mary-magnificat47   and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour,
48 for he has looked with favour on the lowliness of his servant.
Surely, from now on all generations will call me blessed;

49 for the Mighty One has done great things for me,
and holy is his name.

50 His mercy is for those who fear him
from generation to generation.

51 He has shown strength with his arm;
he has scattered the proud in the thoughts of their hearts.

52 He has brought down the powerful from their thrones,
and lifted up the lowly;

53 he has filled the hungry with good things,
and sent the rich away empty.

54 He has helped his servant Israel,
in remembrance of his mercy,

55 according to the promise he made to our ancestors,
to Abraham and to his descendants for ever.’

56 And Mary remained with her for about three months and then returned to her home.

In the Jesus story everything is turned upside down… or perhaps upside right is the better term. Perhaps “upside down” is the way I live my life most of the time.

I live as if power mattered, as if the glamour and glitter of this world actually has something to offer. I fool myself into believing that, if only I could get the surface circumstances of life to conform to my wishes, I would find contentment.

Mary knew better. Mary knew that the Jesus-way is the upside right version of life.

Mary understood that the longings of our hearts will never find contentment in those things in which the world so often takes pride. She knew that peace does not lie with the “powerful” on their “thrones” and that no lasting satisfaction will ever be achieved by material riches.

Mary sang the praises of “lowliness,” “fear”, “hunger”, and “service”.

I find the “mercy” for which I truly long, when I open my heart to the upside down kingdom born in the baby whose praise Mary sang as he grew in her womb.

What are the values that motivate my life?

Am I willing to live in the upside down kingdom that Jesus inaugurates?

