19But Mary treasured (“synteres”) all these words and pondered (“symballo”) them in her heart.

20The shepherds returned, glorifying and praising God for all they had heard and seen, as it had been told them.

mary-treasured-all-these-things“Mary synteres these things and symballo them in her heart.”

Synteres” means to hold or to cherish.

We all hold things, events, memories, circumstances, people, interactions in our hearts. The things we “synteres” in our hearts have a profound and lasting impact on our lives for good or ill. When what I “synteres” is “good news”, light, beauty, and truth, my heart grows and opens. It expands to embrace so much more of the world.

When I hold love in my heart, my heart becomes able to “symballo”.

Symballo” is the root of the English word “symbol”. It means “to bring together.” “Symballo” makes it possible for me to experience the inherent unity of all life.

Symballo” is the opposite of “satanas,” which means “to oppose” or “to drive apart.” Satan is that force which creates brokenness, pain, and fragmentation. “Satanas” views the world in terms of opposites. Everything is either good or bad, right or wrong, true or false. Everyone is in or out, friend or foe, welcome or shunned. “Satanas” has no room for the uncertain middle ground. “Satanas” is unable to hold the tension of opposites and so always drives apart.

“Symballois the force of healing and reconciliation.Symballo has the capacity to hold more than one point of view at the same time.Symballopenetrates beneath the surface to the essential unity of all life.

When I ponder in my heart that which is good, true, and beautiful, I become an instrument for “symballo”. When I follow Mary and hold love and light at the centre of my life, I move towards oneness and reconciliation.

What do I hold in my heart?

Does my life suggest I function as a force for reconciliation and wholeness or for brokenness and fragmentation?

