27and when the parents brought in the child Jesus, to do for him what was customary under the law,28Simeon took him in his arms and praised God, saying, 


simeon29
‘Master, now you are dismissing your servant in peace,
according to your word;

30 for my eyes have seen your salvation,
31   which you have prepared in the presence of all peoples,
32 a light for revelation to the Gentiles
and for glory to your people Israel.’

The first time I took in my arms my first child, like Simeon, I saw the “salvation… prepared in the presence of all peoples, a light for revelation…”

It is not that I viewed this new little being as my saviour. But, she enabled me to touch in myself, those qualities that are a sign of that wholeness and truth that were fully embodied in Jesus.

Cradling in my arms the miracle of new life that came from the union of love between me and my wife, I touched in myself the gentle qualities of tenderness, vulnerability, and beauty that are my true nature. She was for me a “revelation” of “light” in a way that I have only rarely experienced.

Many times since that first encounter, I have lost sight of this “glory.” The pressures, responsibilities and burdens of life have obscured my awareness of the “light” that I know is the truest and deepest longing of my heart.

This light was born fully into the world in the person of that small child who Simeon “took in his arms” long ago when Mary and Joseph came to present Jesus in the temple. Simeon understood that in the deep well-spring of life embodied in Jesus he was finding the fulfillment of his deepest life’s longing. And so, having touched in himself the truth of his being, Simeon was able to say honestly to God, “now you are dismissing your servant in peace, according to your word.”

Simeon’s life had been fulfilled. There was nothing left for which to long. No unfulfilled yearning remained. He had realized the completion of his journey. He was content to depart.

What helps me connect with my true nature as a human being created in the image of God?

Where do I look for the fulfillment of my deepest longings and aspirations?

