39 When they had finished everything required by the law of the Lord, they returned to Galilee, to their own town of Nazareth.

jesus-child40The child grew and became strong, filled with wisdom; and the favour of God was upon him.

The day of giving and receiving gifts approaches.

But what are the gifts for which my heart truly longs? How about “being strong, filled with wisdom; and the favour of God”?

If someone could wrap up strength, wisdom, and God’s favour, and put them under the Christmas tree for me to open tomorrow morning, I would truly have something to celebrate.

But, perhaps the message of this season is that strength, wisdom and the favour of God are not so far off after all. Perhaps these gifts are not something I need to seek under a tree, or in some remote location.

If Jesus is the embodiment of all that is most truly and deeply human, then the birth of Jesus suggests that strength, wisdom, and God’s favour are in fact part of my inheritance as a child created in the image and likeness of God.

Jesus demonstrates the true nature of what it means to be human. In him we see a vision of what we were created to be. The deep insight, wisdom, power, and light into which he grew are not meant just for Jesus.

These are the true destiny of all human beings. It is not a question of where do I get this beauty, but of how I open to the reality of what is. The real question is why I lose touch with this deep reality of the person I truly am.

I do not need to seek strength, wisdom and God’s favour. These gifts are qualities of my created nature.

I need only to stop, get still for a moment, and trust the presence of God to find within the deep mystery of light and beauty embodied in this Christmas season.

In this season of love and beauty, why do I lose touch with the true strength and wisdom of God’s presence dwelling in my being?

How can I stay close to the consciousness of the truly blessed nature of all life?

