7So Simon and the other fishermen in his boat signalled to their partners in the other boat to come and help them.

And they came and filled both boats, so that they began to sink. 8But when Simon Peter saw it, he fell down at Jesus’ knees, saying, ‘Go away from me, Lord, for I am a sinful man!’9For he and all who were with him were amazed at the catch of fish that they had taken; 10and so also were James and John, sons of Zebedee, who were partners with Simon.

“Deep water” is the place of abundance. It is the place of unlimited resources.

When I am fishing in “deep water” I never run out of the necessary energy to complete the tasks at hand because the tasks are those given to me by truth and love and the energy is not my energy. I have given up taking direction from the ego. I do not need to be a better fisherman than you, or to catch more fish than you. I am no longer fishing to prove what a great fisherman I am. I have stopped needing to prove myself, to change the world, or even to have a powerful impact on anyone. The life of abundance is not a good, better, best competition.

I am happy for your boat to be just as full as my boat, or even fuller if that happens to be the way the fishing goes. There is ample to go around.

I know I do not deserve this abundance. I have not earned it by my hard work and determined effort. Indeed, I have resisted opening my heart to these “deep waters” of abundance; “I am a sinful man!” I am often self-centered, frightened and determined to stay in the shallow waters where I feel more in control and where it is easier to maintain the illusion of some human achieved security.

But, in the shallow waters, I miss the abundance. I lose sight of the amazing mystery and beauty that is the gift of life.  It is tragic to stay too close to shore.

God help me put out into the “deep water” of that consciousness which is aware of your presence and seeks only to live in tune with your word of truth and life.

