10Then Jesus said to Simon, ‘Do not be afraid;

from now on you will be catching people.’ 11When they had brought their boats to shore, they left everything and followed him.

Of course this has always been the problem. I am “afraid”.

I am “afraid” that there is not enough to go around. The available resources seem to be lacking. I am afraid that the provision for this journey is inadequate.

So life becomes a competition. It is all a matter of storing up enough so that I finally feel secure and able to launch out into the “deep water.” But, on this plane there is never enough.

But, when I fish in “deep water” a whole new capacity opens up. Jesus says, when I fish in “deep water”,

from now on you will be catching people.

In John’s Gospel, Jesus is reported to have said,

I am the light of the world. (John 8:12)

But in Matthew he also said,

You are the light of the world. (Matthew 5:14)

What Jesus is, I am. Could this also be applied to John 6:35, where Jesus said, ‘I am the bread of life’?

Bread and light are naturally attractive. The do not have to strain at being attractive; it is simply a natural quality of their being.

When I live in the “deep water” of the profound mystery and power of that consciousness within me which discerns the presence of God in all of life, there is a chance others may be drawn to risk sailing out a little from shore and finding themselves in the “deep water” of the abundance of God’s presence.

This has nothing to do with trying to change anyone, or convince anyone of anything. To be a person who has the capacity for “catching people” means simply living from the depths within my own being and allowing that depth to speak through my life.

Of course, to fish in deep waters I must determine that I will leave “everything”, let go of my fears, and follow the direction of that love who calls me out into the “deep water”.

What am I clinging to that prevents me from living in the deep place of my being where I am conscious of the divine mystery and beauty that permeates all of life?

