17One day, while Jesus was teaching, Pharisees and teachers of the law were sitting nearby (they had come from every village of Galilee and Judea and from Jerusalem);

 and the power of the Lord was with Jesus to heal.18Just then some men came, carrying a paralysed man on a bed. They were trying to bring him in and lay him before Jesus; 19but finding no way to bring him in because of the crowd, they went up on the roof and let him down with his bed through the tiles into the middle of the crowd in front of Jesus.

I am impressed by these “men”. They are unwilling to allow any obstacle to get in the way of their desire for their friend’s healing. Something has given them the intuition that this itinerant teacher from Nazareth may be a source for the healing their sick. So, despite the crowd and the presence of religious officials who were known to be opposed to this man and his teaching, they determine they will get their friend close to Jesus.

What are the barriers in my life that get in the way of me connecting with that source of love and light these “men” saw embodied in the person of Jesus?

There are so many pressures and demands on my resources of time and energy. It is so easy to allow even good things to distract me from my intention to live in the healing light of Christ. It is a constant challenge to clear space in my life for that intuition of love’s power to grow in my heart.

I wonder how determined I am to get close to Jesus. How easily I wander astray from the best intentions of my heart.

How determined am I to tackle the obstacles that get in the way of my encounter with “the power of the Lord… to heal”? To what lengths am I willing to go to live in that wholeness that is my true destiny as a person created in the image and likeness of God? What sacrifices am I willing to make? What barriers will I cross to allow the healing presence of love to be more fully released in my life and in my community?

