35bYour reward will be great, and you will be children of the Most High; for he is kind to the ungrateful and the wicked.

36Be merciful, just as your Father is merciful.

It seems incongruous, having just extolled the virtue of a love that is capable of “expecting nothing in return,” (cf Luke 6:32-35a https://inaspaciousplace.wordpress.com/2017/05/02/luke-632-35a/) that Jesus should suddenly, in the second half of verse thirty-five, declare that because you exercise such a love “Your reward will be great.” A “reward” is given in response to merit. You earn a reward for a job well done.

Love is not about doing a good job. Love is about living in tune with our Source. Love requires only surrender and trust. Love is the end to all meritrocracy. It does not set out to earn anything, to prove anything, or to justify itself in any way.

So, what is this great “reward” Jesus promised?

The Greek word is mesthos; it is not easily translated into English. It means “fruit that flows naturally from a source.” Mesthos might be best described as “natural outcome.”

The natural outcome of living in love is that I discover my true identity. In love I come to recognize myself as a child “of the Most High”.

Jesus calls me, not to struggle to be more loving, but to see myself in the Source from which I have emerged.

As I see my life flowing from and sustained by love, I become more like what I see.

The more deeply I know myself to be an offspring who has come forth from the unstinting flow of Love the more I will naturally live in tune with my Source. I will “Be merciful, just as [my] Father is merciful.” As it is the nature of God to be merciful, so it is my nature to be merciful. Anything less than love is going astray from my true nature as a “child of the Most High.”

The more deeply I am able to rest and trust in my created nature the more fully I will live my true identity as a child of Love.

