9:10 a.m.  Thursday  18 May 2017 – Chemainus, BC

Bishop Logan McMenamie

Turf Cross presented by the Corrymeela Community to the Diocese of BC

I have no check list for what you need to do in your parish with the material we have deal with over these past few days.

You are correct when you say that reconciliation is deeply contextual. For some parishes it might not look like First Nations. There is no blanket way forward that everyone must follow.

No one speaks from the heart of the indigenous people except the indigenous people themselves.

We don’t have a road map for the way forward. We are explorers on a pathway. If we are on the wrong pathway, we need to take a step back and look again. It is a given that along the way we will make mistakes.

What we have experienced here in our time together is reconciliation.

We are not in a “year” of reconciliation. We are in a year of learning about reconciliation. We are in a season of reconciliation.

I don’t have any expectation of you that you will do any particular thing in your congregation. We each need to work in our own particular context. I accept that for some of you this may mean that the first priority is not First Nations issues.

We are not a mono-theological comm;unity. We live together on a spectrum. I don’t like the labels, but for lack of better terms, we span the spectrum from conservative to liberal and everything in between. Everyone, wherever they may be on that spectrum, has my complete support. This diversity is a unique Anglican gift.

There is a story in our Diocese right now about young clergy leaving the Diocese and the reasons there may be for that. As with any story that is told, I would ask you to imagine that there may be another part to this story. We need to honour those young clergy who are in our Diocese.

For us this Clergy Conference has been very very significant for our Diocese.

Where we go from here is up to God.

I honour each of you. I have heard what you said about context. I want to honour the good hearts you have brought with you. I see the significance of your ministries in your parishes and I thank you for that.

I will always be honest with you. I will support you 1o0%. In public I will always have your back in the parish. I may challenge you in private, but I will always be honest and supportive. I expect you to be honest with me.

At our last Synod we named for areas to which we needed to pay attention:

1. Camp Columbia – Last June 50 people gathered here in Chemainus to celebrate the life and witness of Camp Columbia; may she now rest in peace. A task force is moving towards the sale of this property.

2. Finance – we will not be continuing with Waller and Associates. Instead we have accepted a recommendation that we hire a Diocesan Director of Financial Development And Stewardship: http://www.bc.anglican.ca/news/job-posting-director-of-financial-development-and-stewardship. We hope this person will be in place by September; but it is more important to get the right person.

3. Rolling out the vision – I have established Vision Implementation Teams that will continue to move our vision process forward: http://www.bc.anglican.ca/vision/vision-implementation-teams

4. Healing – I recognize that there are areas in which we still need to work on healing. This will be part of the process of Regional gatherings that have been planned for every Region in the Diocese: http://www.bc.anglican.ca/events/selkirk-regional-gathering/2017-05-24. We need to identify in each Region what are those things that may be binding us.

I want to thank you again for the privilege of being with you in ministry.

***************

Teri – The gift I bring is intensity. I am important because I really go down deep. Other people bring other gifts but this is mine.

I am so grateful for having me you all. I feel great affection for you all.

What I hope you see from this process is that you need each other. There is an Irish Proverb that says,

It is in the shelter of each other that the people live.

As I stand here in the middle of this circle, am I safe? Can I trust you? Have I been safe in this process we have shared in together? Have I been safe in your thoughts? in your words? in your deeds?

Are you trustable people?

It is always first and foremost about relationship. There are so many fractures in your Diocese. But if you honour these fractures and one another, you can be a safe space, a shelter.

