12 If one does not repent, God will whet his sword;
   he has bent and strung his bow;

13 he has prepared his deadly weapons,
   making his arrows fiery shafts.
14 See how they conceive evil,
   and are pregnant with mischief,
   and bring forth lies.
15 They make a pit, digging it out,
   and fall into the hole that they have made.
16 Their mischief returns upon their own heads,
   and on their own heads their violence descends.

This sounds so grim. But, I have already said so will only repeat briefly, HP uses picture language to illustrate the fact that, when I am not “upright in heart,” I suffer.  When I fall prey to my own egoic, self-centered programs, it is not long before I begin to feel as if my life has been cut to shreds. I feel pierced through by the arrow of my own dysfunction. I fall into a “hole” I have dug for myself, and leave trails of “violence” and suffering wherever I go.

The new twist HP adds here is the idea that “evil” comes forth from my innermost being, like a mother bringing forth a child into the world.

Jesus said to his disciples,

Do you not see that whatever goes into the mouth enters the stomach, and goes out into the sewer? 18But what comes out of the mouth proceeds from the heart, and this is what defiles. 19For out of the heart come evil intentions, murder, adultery, fornication, theft, false witness, slander. 20These are what defile a person, but to eat with unwashed hands does not defile.’

(Matthew 15:17-20)

HP might have been shocked by these radical words from the Jewish rabbi named Jesus. Jesus was much less concerned with behaviour (“whatever goes into the mouth”) and much more concerned about the condition of the human “heart.”

Jesus understood that if I get the first thing first, the rest will fall into place. When I concentrate on behaviour before doing inner heart-work, my heart remains stiff and parched;  a pinched heart can never bring forth the works/“fruit” of the Spirit (Galatians 5:22:23) . My behaviour will never come into alignment with the truth of my created nature as long as I harbour resentment, bitterness, anger, violence, personal ambition, self-aggrandizement, or personal agendas in my heart. When I concentrate on being “upright in heart,” my behaviour begins to conform to that Spirit who dwells in my heart and calls me back to the life I was created to embody.

The problem with “upright” is that it sounds so righteous. Righteousness is the very quality with which Jesus had so much trouble. He was constantly under attack by those who believed in their own righteousness. But the Hebrew word translated “upright” can also mean “straight.” It sounds odd “God saves those who have a straight heart.” But a “straight heart” is a heart that seeks to go consistently in the same direction. It is a heart that aims to move straight ahead; it foreswears the crooked ways of dishonesty, duplicity and deceit.  A “straight” heart is a heart that is reliable and faithful. This perhaps feels a slightly more manageable aim than a heart that is always “upright.”.

What forces cause my heart to become crooked?

Lord help me to align my heart with your heart so that I might go consistently in the direction of your love.