6 Rise up, O Lord, in your anger;

   lift yourself up against the fury of my enemies;
   awake, O my God; you have appointed a judgement.
7 Let the assembly of the peoples be gathered around you,
   and over it take your seat on high.
8 The Lord judges the peoples;
   judge me, O Lord, according to my righteousness
   and according to the integrity that is in me.

Perhaps HP was an enormously more compassionate, kind, honest, pure, authentic, and loving human being than I am. I’m sure many people fall into this category. But I doubt many of us could imagine ourselves standing before God and boldly, with absolute confidence in a good outcome, saying to God,

judge me, O Lord, according to my righteousness 
and according to the integrity that is in me
.

I am pretty sure this would not end well for me. I am confident that “my righteousness” and my “integrity” fall pretty far short of the standard of perfection to which I know I am called (cf. Matthew 5:48). 

I don’t know if HP was just arrogant, self-deluded or deeply unconscious. What I do know is that anyone who believes they can depend upon their own “righteousness” and “integrity” to justify themselves before the standard of “perfection” to which we are called, is heading for a fall. The only way to believe in the illusion of my own “righteousness” is to deny any degree of shadow side to my nature. And, when I deny the shadow side of my nature, I am doomed to act out of it and will bring destruction and dysfunction wherever I go. This is the “judgment” to which HP refers so frequently. I know in this “judgment”, I will always fall short.

It is ironic that HP who, in so many ways stands as an archetype of honesty and truthfulness, should fall prey to the delusion of self-righteousness he seems to demonstrate at this point.

What do I need to have in my life to keep me self-aware and deeply honest about my true nature?

Lord help me to see myself honestly and to never pretend to a self-righteousness that I know I lack.