11 Sing praises to the Lord, who dwells in Zion.
   Declare his deeds among the peoples.

12 For he who avenges blood is mindful of them;
   he does not forget the cry of the afflicted.

What is Zion?

Zion is a synonym for the city of Jerusalem, or at times for the whole of Israel. Before anything else, it is a real identifiable geographical location. But in the Bible there are times when Zion may also be used as a metaphor or a symbol.

In Psalm 125:1 HP says,

Those who trust in the Lord are like Mount Zion,
   which cannot be moved, but abides for ever
.

To “trust in the Lord” is to be one who “cannot be moved.” When I am not “moved,” I know that God is “mindful” of my life, concerned for my well-being, working in every situation to move me towards wholeness. This is the steady abiding reality we see throughout the Psalms that HP refers to using the Hebrew word hesed, “mercy,” “steadfast love.”

When I am established in Zion, I am not battered and pushed around by every blast of wind that blows by. I live no longer at the whim of external circumstance. The energy of my life shifts from living in constant reaction to forces that impact on me. I begin to be able to respond more freely to the situations I encounter. 

Zion is the dwelling place of the Divine (Isaiah 8:18), the fortress of all those who trust in the Lord.

The dwelling place of the Lord is the human heart. God lives within me. As I open to this deep awareness of Presence, I know that, however trying may be my external circumstances, there is a reality that holds me even when I find myself among the “afflicted.”

What helps me find within myself that steady abiding place that is the Presence of the Divine?

Lord, help me to know deep within that, whatever is going on in the circumstances of my life, I am not alone.