1 Why, O Lord, do you stand far off?
   Why do you hide yourself in times of trouble?

If I am willing to be as honest as HP, I have to admit, there are times when I have felt this way. There are times when beauty, truth, light and love, seem to be the most remote realities. The world seems a harsh, angry and dark place. We live in troubled times and God seems to have gone into hiding.

To acknowledge the feeling that God seems to be standing “far off” does not diminish HP as a spiritual person. The greatness of his faith is deepened by his struggle. He does not have a happy cheery view of life. He is not able to live by the happily-ever-after illusion. HP understands that there are “times of trouble,” times of darkness, difficulty, pain and chaos. And yet, he does not give up.

HP continues to cry out to God. He remains passionately committed to the possibility that there is another reality beneath, or alongside, or transcending the veil of tears that so often obscures the light and beauty of God’s presence.

HP’s despondency, skates dangerously close to the edge of despair. But some invisible power always pulls him back from the abyss. Something in his heart always manages to open to a deeper reality and to perceive a glimmer of light in the midst of the darkness by which he is so nearly overwhelmed.

What helps me to cry out in faith and trust even when I feel surrounded by trouble?

Lord, may I be honest about my faltering faith and find growing in my heart enduring trust in your goodness even in the midst of suffering.